INCOSE Corporate
Directors Award
President Award
Bronze Circle Award
Silver Circle Award
Gold Circle Award

2013 Carol Hutchinson Systems Engineer of the Year AwardDr. Sam Seymour

Each year the INCOSE Chesapeake Chapter awards the Carol Hutchinson Systems Engineer of the Year award. The award is given to an outstanding member of the INCOSE Chesapeake Chapter on the basis of their Systems Engineering contributions over the previous three years. The recipient exemplifies the model for a Systems Engineer and has made significant contributions to Systems Engineering in three specific areas.

  1. The first is contributions to commercial, DoD or government Systems Engineering practice. Examples include leading or participating on a Systems Engineering team on a large system development program, contributing to Systems Engineering process improvement, and managing a Systems Engineering staff.
  2. The second area is academic Systems Engineering practice. Examples of academic SE practice include authoring a professional paper related to Systems Engineering published in a recognized INCOSE journal or magazine or published at an INCOSE refereed conference, presenting a technical Systems Engineering brief in a different venue, or another significant Systems Engineering academic outreach activity.
  3. The third category is Systems Engineering outreach. Examples of outreach are serving on the Chapter’s Board of Directors, contributing in a substantial way to an INCOSE Technical Working Group, serving at the INCOSE corporate level, and attending the INCOSE International Workshop (IW) or International Symposium (IS).

Systems Engineer of the Year (SEY) candidates are formally nominated by another INCOSE Chesapeake Chapter member in good standing or by the management of their company or organization. Candidates score themselves and provide documentation and evidence to validate their contributions in each of the three areas. The application process closes at the end of October and candidates are then assessed by a committee of former SEYs. The winner is announced at the December holiday banquet.

Previous Recipients

SEY Awardees (Click on name for more info)
2013 Dr. Sam Seymour
2012 Alex Pavlak
2011 Michael E. Pafford
2010 Don York
2008 Carol Ann Hutchinson
2007 Stephen Sutton
2006 L. Mark Walker
2005 Jim Chism
2004 John Thomas

Leave a Comment