INCOSE Corporate
Directors Award
President Award
Bronze Circle Award
Silver Circle Award
Gold Circle Award

SEVENTH Award 2011: Michael E. Pafford

by Communications Team on January 29, 2012  •   Print This Post Print This Post   •   

PaffordThe Chesapeake Chapter recognizes Michael E. Pafford, as its Systems Engineer of the Year for 2011. Mr. Pafford is a project manager and member of the Senior Professional Staff at the Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (JHU/APL). His current roles and responsibilities include Strategic C2ISR Subject Matter Expert for the Global Engagement Department; ISR Technical Advisor to HQ USSTRATCOM and the DoD Intelligence Operations Coordination Center (DIOCC); Lead Systems Engineer (LSE) on a project team developing a Collaborative Information Environment (CIE) concept for Maritime Operations Centers (MOCs); Principal Investigator (PI) and LSE for multi-year SE/SWE cross-discipline Internal R&D (IRAD) project to design, develop, and deploy Multi-User Virtual Environments (MUVEs) for collaborative synchronous analytics; LSE on OPNAV N81 Naval Effects Cross-Domain Targeting (NEXT) Capabilities Based Assessment (CBA) ISR Target Study; and LSE on cross-enterprise Private Cloud Pilot Project Team.

Mr. Pafford is a lecturer in Software Systems Engineering at the JHU Whiting School of Engineering. With the JHU/APL Strategic Education Program (SEP), he is the co-instructor for the practitioners course on Model-Based Systems Engineering (MBSE) using the Enterprise Architect™ SysML-based software toolset and both the designer and instructor for a course on Intro to Multi-User Virtual Environments (MUVEs).

Mr. Pafford is a long-time member and current Co-Chairman of the Chesapeake Chapter sponsored INCOSE Object-Oriented Systems Engineering Methodology (OOSEM) Working Group. In addition, he has been a frequent speaker at the monthly meetings of the Chesapeake Chapter.


INCOSE Chesapeake Chapter

Systems Engineer of the Year Award


Presented to:

Michael E. Pafford; JHU/APL


Go back to list of Previous Recipients

Previous post:

Next post: